Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
480 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Firstly, I'm here to learn and I enjoy working on my bike.

I've done everything so far but valves and this includes several more complex tasks than oil change, and regular maintenance. I also plan to change both sprockets, break old chain and install new, clean throttle body, in addition to regular yearly maintenance.

I've never done cam belts before but I feel pretty competent and able as long as I'm careful and have the correct information.

What I'm here for is just things you may have encountered while doing yours that I should be aware of. There's usually always something that pops up when covers come off and or internals are exposed. Things that manuals don't explain or show.

I haven't found a video on youtube that I can confidently say "this is the one I'll follow" since almost every video does it a bit differently. I also haven't found a Scrambler specific cam belt replacement video.

I plan to use the instructions that I'm attaching below and I purchased the following tool because I can't justify spending $150 on the winged crank turning tool by laser.

I have a 2016 Italia and will be doing the belts during my upcoming March break. I hope once the belt covers come off that all the necessary markings to line everything up correctly are there.

What I'm not sure about is why are the old belts marked and how do those markings transfer over to the new belts? Having not seen a belt up close, I'm under the assumption that all teeth are the same? So why the markings on old belts and matching them on new belts before installation?

Also, I plan to use a phone tension app meter instead of buying an expensive dealer tool to set the correct tension.

That being said, service instructions indicate to set tension at 140hz but many people I've talked to say otherwise (lower)