Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an older set of Tourmaster Select Saddlebags that I previously used on another bike. They are a bit faded, but in good working condition. They are well suited to my needs for commuting with easy (fast) opening main compartment and plenty of space. I tried them on the Scrambler, but they kept sagging in toward the rear wheel. That would get ugly pretty fast. So I looked up under the rear part of the seat and noticed 2 unused welded nuts. I bent a piece of aluminum ($4 at Home Depot) and drilled some holes and created a brace. I couldn't be happier with the results. This isn't a permanent solution as I would like some hard cases eventually, but haven't yet found any that I like. I think the profile and size of these bags is perfect for the Scrambler. What do you think?

These are the unused nuts on the Icon.
Bag 1.JPG

This is the Aluminum strip after bends and holes added.
Bag 2.JPG

Holding it in position
Bag 3.jpg

A little paint
Bag 4.JPG

Side Profile after mounting
Bag 5.JPG

Mounting points
Bag 6.JPG

Finished look
Bag 7.JPG

Bag 8.JPG

·
Registered
47 Posts
I like your solution and think it looks great. I'd like to find something like this but with a frame that is easily removable. Will have to look at this a little closer. I don't always need to be carrying things with me that won't fit in a pocket, and right now I've just got two small bungees looped from each frame member and over the back seat to hold down a backpack. Not perfect, but OK as a quick fix.

You know what I don't see in this picture? The evaporative emissions canister, like on my Icon. The Florida tag implies it's a US spec bike. Wonder why my VA bike has a CA evap can?

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter #4