Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's happened twice now. Traveling in a straight line at approx. 75 mph and bounce over a bit of crappy pavement. Rapid handle bar shake - four or five osculations. It settles down on its own, but the sphincter factor is a high five. I've been riding sport bikes for forty years, and have had my share of tank slappers, but not in a straight line, and not without asking for it. Anybody else out there experienced this?

·
Premium Member
613 Posts
It's the crappy front suspension - causes brief tank slappers for me all the time. Only happens at relatively high speed when you hit a pretty big pothole or bump.

·
Registered
945 Posts
I ride hard and fast and always hitting large bumps or holes and never once had this so I would not go blaming front suspension.

·
Premium Member
613 Posts
I ride hard and fast and always hitting large bumps or holes and never once had this so I would not go blaming front suspension.
Seriously??

Tank slappers are ALWAYS caused by suspension issues - nothing else.

·
Registered
945 Posts
Seriously??

Tank slappers are ALWAYS caused by suspension issues - nothing else.
Well you learn something new every day. I have only owned budget bikes with stock suspension in my 12 years of riding and I have never had a tank slapper so thats were my assumption came from :)

·
Premium Member
613 Posts
Well you learn something new every day. I have only owned budget bikes with stock suspension in my 12 years of riding and I have never had a tank slapper so thats were my assumption came from :)
Let me clarify...

A "tank-slapper" or "speed wobble" occurs when the front tire becomes airborne, then regains traction again outside the rear wheel's alignment. Imagine a small rock sliding under your tire raising the wheel off the pavement and physically turning your front wheel ever so slightly before it regains traction - same type of condition.