Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
on the fence of getting a Sixty2. I started riding dirt bikes this summer and am riding a 300cc 2 stroke. I also took a 2 day motorcycle class and with the 60 miles of street riding I have done so far, feel pretty comfortable.

I do like the sound and feel of power but have no plans to go fast. Think like 80mph if that max. Mainly city riding, not much highway or long distance.

Would I really be underwhelmed with the Sixty2? Safety is what’s most important, it seems like simple science having less power equals more safety.

·
Registered
816 Posts
Power pretty much has nothing to do with safety in my opinion but I'm sure others will disagree.

What makes a bike beginner friendly is:
- Ease of use
- Power delivery
- Safety systems
- The rider's own common sense

I think the Sixty2 is massively overpriced, considering the 800 is only a little more money but they remove a lot of nicer quality parts.

The 800 will not be vastly more demanding than a Sixty2, the ergonomics, size and weight are basically identical and I think that matters most. The bike will only go as fast as you tell it to and if you can't control your speed, a Sixty2 is just as dangerous as the 800.

If you're comfortable riding off road on an 300cc dirtbike, I suspect your bike control is fine. Most of riding on the road is learning roadcraft, basically seeing danger coming and being ready for it. Sportsbikes make this hard as visibility is lower and they are more difficult at slow speeds but all the Scrambler's are quite easy to ride.

It's not the speed of the Sixty2 that's underwhelming, just the quality compared to the 800. (cheaper brakes, suspension, swingarm, exhaust... etc.. )

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Power pretty much has nothing to do with safety in my opinion but I'm sure others will disagree.

What makes a bike beginner friendly is:
- Ease of use