Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all

I've been considering different flat seats for my 2018 Desert Sled — partly because I love that straight cafe line down the frame of the bike, and partly because my 30" inseam doesn't quite get both feet flat on the ground. I'm hoping to drop the seat height ~1" rather than compromising on the suspension.

I decided to try out the OEM "Ducati Scrambler Cafe Racer Twin Seater Seat". I couldn't find too much info about it online, so I thought I'd share my findings here.

It's designed for the 2018 and 2019 Café Racer model, and requires an under-seat panel like all other flat seats. The official picture looks brownish, but in fact it's the same black as my stock seat. It has some white contrast stitching down the sides and at the 3/4 seams. The Ducati logo is outlined rather filled like the stock seat. It goes for $360 CAD + tax.

As it turns out, this seat is slightly TALLER than the stock seat.

side.gif

It's also a little narrower at the front, and wider/flatter at the rear.
rear.gif

The net effect was an INCREASED reach of about 1/2"
feet.gif

So unfortunately I'll be returning this and considering other options. I'll post a few more pics below.

P.S. Sorry, the dirt isn't stock... that's a custom accessory I added ;)

·
Registered
2 Posts
Good comparison. Thanks for taking the time to do it.

I have about the same inseam as you. I wouldn’t mind a more comfortable and lower seat option. I’m making do for now but it can get a bit sketchy when there’s a big crown in the road. Have to be careful and make sure you plan your foot placement.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
214 Posts
Great comparison gifs!
It looks great.

Honestly, I'm 5'3" and constantly deal with only getting tip-toes on the ground. I typically have only one foot down... I don't have a DS, but looking at the photos you're about where I am with the FT.