Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have links to articles or tech docs relating to the 1100 Scrambler engine. Despite numerous searches, I can't find anything which goes much beyond brochure/review details. Even the Italian 'name' (e.g. Testastretta or Desmosedici, etc) doesn't appear to be publicised in relation to the Scrambler, the way it is with, say, the Monster. I'm awaiting a Dark Pro and would enjoy reading more about the heart of the machine while I wait for delivery! Thanks.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
This is all the manual has:
Thanks.......I hope it's not just me being 'overly curious' but it seems so strange that other Ducati's all have the 'exotic' names. Similarly, if I hadn't seen it in one review (and one review only) I didn't even know it had twin spark plugs per cylinder and only 2 valves! I'm a total Ducati newbie after nearly 40 years on Jap bikes........I'm sure it shows!

·
Registered
16 Posts
Thanks.......I hope it's not just me being 'overly curious' but it seems so strange that other Ducati's all have the 'exotic' names. Similarly, if I hadn't seen it in one review (and one review only) I didn't even know it had twin spark plugs per cylinder and only 2 valves! I'm a total Ducati newbie after nearly 40 years on Jap bikes........I'm sure it shows!
This is my first Ducati so I don’t know much about them. From what i read, the engine is based on the monster 1100 evo engine but with a single throttle body and other changes to meet emissions standards. The riding experience is much different than that bike — which is good for some people but people who like a more raucous engine would much prefer the evo.

·
Registered
835 Posts