Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So,

I purchased my Icon 2 weeks ago and had to wait until yesterday to get my cast (from previous motorcycle accident) off. I finally got to put some miles on the Duc yesterday. My previous bike is an '81 GS450. I'm completely new to modern engines and fuel injection. I've been having a lot excessive heat by my knees and was curious if this is normal or if it's a Ducati thing or if I may have an issue. I'm just under 100 miles and don't want to continue riding if there is indeed an issue.

Any thoughts? Also if this is simply a result of a more powerful machine, is there anything that can be done to combat it? It's not bad while riding and I assume that the warm weather we've been having in SW Ohio contributes to the heat. But when I'm at a traffic light, it can get pretty bad, especially on the exhaust side.

·
Registered
965 Posts
I just got back from my first service and the forecast for today is 106 so I could definitely feel the heat when slowed or completely stopped but nothing of concern. Doesn't sound like you're experiencing any unusual heat at all, but if you are concerned just remember that there is a high temperature indicator that will notify you on the LCD.

·
Registered
242 Posts
I came from an '80 GS550 (which I still ride on the regular) and the heat difference is huge. I never noticed "HEAT" on my GS at all. In contrast though, my Scrambler initially felt like it was roasting my accessories on an open fire. I had to do something about the actual seat because it was getting so hot. You can read about that here. Hot Seat Ducati Scrambler Forum
I did that early on and it seems that solved the issue for me. The engine heat is still there, but I felt it the most through the seat. I'm in south FL, so it is always hot.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Inside of left thigh. Sometimes the frame gets so blooming hot when at junctions!!!