Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi - I've just taken delivery of a used 2019 DS 1100 Sport, so I'm new to the fold. One of the first "mods" I make to a bike when I get it is to swap the straight tyre valves for metal side valves. I was a bit surprised to see the front tyre has a straight valve, and the rear a side valve. Looking through Google images, it seems that this is how they come stock, and not through any replacement by the previous owner. Not a problem - easy enough to change - but I'm trying to figure out the reasoning for this (if there is any). I would have thought they would both be the same.

·
Registered
1,122 Posts
Just a guess based on my 800… The rear valve is a PITA to get to. The front quite easy (with my pump anyhow).

·
Registered
118 Posts
Mine came setup the same (Front straight; Rear 90 degree angled). I would have also preferred to have the front at a 90 also, as it's a little tricky getting the gauge and pump head in the front with the brake rotors on both sides.

·
Registered
172 Posts
I bought two right angle valve extenders off ebay . makes checking and maintaining air pressure a doddle.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yeah, I'll be doing the same - I've put them on my other bike. Just struck me as a little odd.

·
Registered
1,122 Posts
Ha, twin discs, I forgot. I top my tyres up with a small bike pump with a flexible pipe which works for me though I appreciate angled valves would be a lot easier and allow me to use my decent pump. Are they easy to change, like in a back yard with limited tools? :)

·
Registered
1,562 Posts
Ha, twin discs, I forgot. I top my tyres up with a small bike pump with a flexible pipe which works for me though I appreciate angled valves would be a lot easier and allow me to use my decent pump. Are they easy to change, like in a back yard with limited tools? :)