Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Before I begin, I couldn't exactly figure out what header this should go under but I think this best fits here. ALSO, this really does not need a response or a rebuttal or is meant to start a crazy spun out topic. This is just what I experienced and wanted to share, when people are mad they will happily blast someone/thing on boards but this a positive and again only my experience.

About four (4) months ago I started my search for a new Ducati, with my last one being a NIB 1999 996. A long long long time ago I was a factory certified Ducati mechanic, and was always very proud of this working in shops from 1995ish to 2000. I went to my local dealer (Adventure Motorsports of Northwest Florida, in Pensacola) roughly 50 miles away, to get eyes on what was current. Thought I wanted a Scrambler 1100 Special, but they had the 1100 Sport on the floor. Of course the Ohlins is eye catching, and being old, I had never had them on any of my bikes. Still, I was strong and inquired only about the possibilities of them getting a Special. Guy was nice but wasn't sure if he could get one but took my information and said he'd call if he could.

Started a search through the internet and found several around the Georgia and South Florida area. By the way, Georgia, an OTD price is just that, kinda sh#tty to give a price and then on the buyers order it's $2.5k higher. Anyhow, was able to get a quote and buyers order for a Sport that was actually cheaper than what I had received for a Special. I took this as a higher power telling me Ohlins was really what I wanted.