Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I used to be a Ducati tech, moved away and beefed it on my scrambler pretty hard. When I finally got my head together and my 3 dozen bones mended, I learned my “friend” had taken my insurance claim and finally ordered my parts four months later, after being asked about them. Upon receiving a pile of parts I was told “I thought it would be a good first project for you, to get used to it again.”. Since having hidden the body, I did attempt to put it together. I put about 200 miles on it before the spark plugs backed out. I’d taken them out when I first gotten the bike back to see if it made scary noises when the engine was turned over by hand and subsequently forgotten to torque them in the months I waited for parts. I took this as a sign that I should just suck it up and do the 13-15,000 mile service it was due for anyways. As a result I have the following:

-bike starts and idles okay, but will cut off after 50 feet of riding.
-confirmed spark
-double checked fuel line connections
-swore at some squirrels and chain smoked

The bike sat for a year, but it has a new tank and I figure after the 200 miles the pump and injectors are okay. After the bike cuts off if I wait 30 seconds and start it again it is good for another 50 feet. I’ve read that the fuel lines work in either position, I have the vertical cylinder running to the left side of the fuel tank flange. Bike has new plugs, air filter so I’m open to suggestions. I did put clip ons on the bike and I could be convinced that it’s knackering a throttle sensor reading, but again it worked for 200 miles. Apologies for being so verbose and thank you for your consideration.

Attachments

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3