Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
About to be 21, I live at the tip of Texas close to the border between Mexico and the U.S. and I've no experience on a motorcycle.

I fell in love with the Ducati Scrambler like many of the folks in this forum, but I find myself ponder if I should purchase a motorcycle now, or not yet.

I do know that I want to make love to the Full Throttle. I don't intend to be driving it off road all the time, but I do know some trails nearby. And I also frequently commute to Mexico, and its roads ... well ... there's hardly any roads in good or proper condition. This is one reason why I prefer a motorcycle with the aspects of a scrambler, unlike a sports-bike or a cruiser. (I've also had my eyes on a dual-sport)

Ok.. so my problem is: The closest Ducati dealer is 280mi/ 450Km in San Antonio or 340mi/ 550Km in Austin. I am thinking... is it worth it to go all the way over there, purchase a bike, maybe ride it back or maybe not. Then for continuous maintenance check-ups, ride back up there? Is it entirely necessary to have the dealer perform the maintenance?

And one other thing... I should probably call, but, do any of you know if there is any chance of finding a pre-owned scrambler? It'll be my first bike ever so I don't mind not being the first one on her.

Thanks,
BlancoWhite

·
2,624 Posts
Welcome to the forum Blanco, and congrats on your 21st Birthday, :cool:

To be honest, If you're not sure whether you want a bike or not, I wouldn't bother :( you need to be committed to riding bikes and they need your attention all the time, nothing like driving a car,
The other thing is, if you intend riding off road all the time you don't need a scrambler, you need a dedicated off road bike, the scramblers not a good choice,IMHO,
I would get something like a 250cc single/twin cylinder Honda, can't think of the model, but there are a lot of better suited bikes out there,