Ducati Scrambler Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I don’t own a desert sled but I think I want one. I live in a hot climate - central Cal. I’ll use the bike to commute which is only about 15 minutes and then mess around on the mountain roads. I’ve heard the bike runs hot. How hot? I won’t be sitting in stop and go traffic so maybe I shouldn’t be worried? I see guys wrapping the pipes so it must be problem for some. Does it really help?

·
Registered
1,326 Posts
If you're moving I reckon you'd be fine. I have no real-world experience of exhaust wrapping but from what I've read here, and elsewhere, it doesn't help an awful lot.

I ride in Kevlar Jeans – I DO end up in stop-start traffic quite often and it does get hot but on my commute (15-20 mins so not much different than yourself) it's not unbearable. I do have an Icon though so I can easily stand with my leg away from the exhaust if stationary for too long.

·
Registered
13 Posts
So I don’t own a desert sled but I think I want one. I live in a hot climate - central Cal. I’ll use the bike to commute which is only about 15 minutes and then mess around on the mountain roads. I’ve heard the bike runs hot. How hot? I won’t be sitting in stop and go traffic so maybe I shouldn’t be worried? I see guys wrapping the pipes so it must be problem for some. Does it really help?

Haha....I live in the middle east where the summer temperatures range between 44 to 49 Celsius, I have wrapped the pipes of my full throttle...which helps but when the bike is idling the engine heat roasts my [email protected]#$$&

·
Registered
848 Posts
It's a hot bike, air cooled and the exhausts run right next to your right leg and under your ass with no fans to blow the heat away.
Even on warm 25C+ days in the UK, it starts to get toasty when sitting at traffic lights for longer periods, it's totally fine as soon as I begin moving.
I've ridden on 30C+ days without too much discomfort.