Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time posting here, but I have been looking at the forum for a few months before buying my Scrambler. I wanted a motorcycle for years but I only bought one this September after I saw it in the Ducati dealership. I got a Scrambler Icon in red and immediately started riding.
Unfortunately the weather here changed very fast and I only got to ride the bike about 700 km before it got really cold and rainy. I wanted to finish the 1000 km break-in period before I put the bike in the garage for the winter, but now it seems too cold to do any more riding this year.

So I will probably finish the break in period and do the 1000 km check next year in spring. Is there a problem if I leave the bike over the winter with the original engine oil? I spoke to the mechanic at the local Ducati shop and they said it's not a problem, but I wanted to ask you guys here in case someone is really knowledgeable about this issue.
Is it ok to wait a few months and finish the break in period next year, or should I brave the cold and rain and finish it this year? Does it matter if I leave the bike with the break-in oil over the winter in my garage?

·
Registered
199 Posts
No it doesn't matter.

But the fact that you have a new bike that has hardly been ridden and will not be ridden because 'It's a bit chilly' means that you should immediately hand the bike back to the dealer and hand in your 'Man Card' at the same time.

As Billy Conelly once said. .... There is no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothing.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Does it matter if I leave the bike with the break-in oil over the winter in my garage?
Don't worry about it - as Airsafari87 said, it doesn't matter.

No it doesn't matter.