Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone come up with a solution on how to gently remove the luminous paint dots that are on nearly every tightened nut & bolt as they are spoiling the look?
A couple came off using my thumb nail but most seem to be permanent!

·
Registered
84 Posts
I know those marks are on everything these days, I even have to do them myself in my job, I am an engineer building £20,000,000 super yachts, I do hundreds everyday, its to let the next person after you know that the item is torqued and finished, they are all over my little Honda commuter too

·
Registered
424 Posts
Now that I have my Icon, I can see the WD 40 doesn't work for this.

I tried several things and finally settled on a cotton rag and laquer thinner. This will dissolve the paint but be VERY careful around any plastic parts.

You may need to use a small probe ( like a very small screwdriver) the guide the cloth into the smaller spaces.

Use this with good ventilation & rubber gloves!

On a related note, a hairdryer (or heat gun) can be used to heat the many stickers so that they can be easily peeled off.

(I peeled them all off intact and re-stuck them in an unobtrusive position under the seat.)

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
I've got yellow and green ones all over the place! :rolleyes: I thought it was to show what had been PDI'd before sale, and then re-checked during service. Wonder what colour they will use next time :confused:

·
Registered
965 Posts
Has anyone come up with a solution on how to gently remove the luminous paint dots that are on nearly every tightened nut & bolt as they are spoiling the look?
A couple came off using my thumb nail but most seem to be permanent!