Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am considering purchasing a comms device mainly for calls and music and voice commands, but after going through product reviews it seems like there isn't a clear-cut winner in the space.

I'm fairly new to the bike world, but the two main brands seem to be Cardo & Sena. Most head-to-heads I have come across give the edge to Cardo. They offer voice commands at a better price. So great, Cardo it is right? But I've read that the build quality is suspect, with many reviewers mentioning faulty charge ports across the packtalk line.

Another issue is audio quality. Most reviews give the edge to Uclear but the device(s) themselves are not great.

It would be good to have something with a good build and the audio of Uclear. Is there anything on the market to recommend?

TL;DR - Don't care about mesh. Care about audio quality and call/voice commands "ok google."

Thanks!

·
Registered
897 Posts
For the use you have the $50 on line units from the auction sites will work perfectly okay.
With both Sena and Cardo you are paying for them being class leading products and having class leading features. You don’t need either.
No helmet mounted comms works well or consistently with voice commands only as there are all sorts of issues like how much wind noise is generated inspire the helmet and where the mic is situated in relation to your mouth and how clearly you talk to be considered. What works for one person may not work for somebody else.
I don’t use voice it’s to inconsistent starting and answering phone calls requires a simple tap of a button using my left hand.

·
Registered
1,137 Posts
I have an 'entry-level' Cardo (FreeCom2). It works fine for what I need from it. It was originally bought to pair with a pillion but that's a whole other story.