Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I live way too far from the nearest Ducati service center, so have to change them myself, on my 2015 Icon. I've heard it's an easy job, but really don't want to screw it up given the how serious a failed timing belt can be to my engine / my very life. To be clear, I'm a real rookie when it comes to working on my bike, so don't know how good is good enough when it comes to trying to install these to spec. My original belts looked great after removing them, even though I rode them hard, well past their recommended mileage, so I'm thinking they were set by the factory pretty well.

Brand new OEM belts are on, and have found several different routes people have suggested for tensioning them without the Ducati sonic measuring tool specified by the service manual.
Method 1) slide a 5 mm allan key between the belt and mobile tensioner. Should slide through with a wee bit of effort. But the 6 mm should not.

Most vids I've seen recommending this way have been for Monsters, not Scramblers, and the recommended belt tensions are different. 110 hz for the Monster and 140 hz for the Scrambler. Does that mean it should be tightened more for the scrambler? Like to the point of where the 5 mm doesn't slide through? And do you do this slide-test through both tensioners for each belt? No vid or written explanation I've found specifies either way, but I assume that you would.