Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Just curious what the smarter people would recommend for oil in the northeast.

My 600 mile service is coming up, and I'm not really thinking it's worth the price. I've already measured and adjusted my chain tension twice, and I check nut/bolt torque and brake pads weekly. Seems silly to pay a stealership almost $300usd when I've already done half of the service (and can just as easily do the second half).

That being said, it's fall in the northeast, and I'm no oil expert. So what does everyone recommend for <40º riding and then 4 months of storage?

·
Registered
3,023 Posts
At least tell your dealer you're doing you 600 mile service yourself, and have them stamp your booklet.

In regards to the oil choice, you should just call your dealer and ask them what oil grade they favor in your circumstances.

The bike is new, you don't want to void your warranty....

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
At least tell your dealer you're doing you 600 mile service yourself, and have them stamp your booklet.

In regards to the oil choice, you should just call your dealer and ask them what oil grade they favor in your circumstances.

The bike is new, you don't want to void your warranty....
That's a good point, I actually didn't think of that at all. I still don't think it's worth quite that much, but I'm sure I'll have to pay them to turn off the service light which will bother me in 2 seconds flat, after turning on

·
Registered
51 Posts