Ducati Scrambler Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all! I'm looking at my first bike in a couple of weeks (20+ years driving, 3 years at 50 cc, and an absolute beginner above that). But I thought I'd jump into this community and learn more. Ever since I picked up the 50cc Yamaha years ago, I've been excited to move up to a larger and more capable engine/bike. I don't want to get anything too powerful just yet, I kind of see myself sticking with 400cc and below for a couple of years - then bumping up to the 800-ish range later when I'm comfortable. I don't want to get something more powerful now because I don't want to tempt myself or bite off more than I can chew.

So...basically, it has come down to a 2018 scrambler 62 (surprise surprise...), 9000 miles @ $6950 USD, and a new 2022 Husq 401, ~200 miles @ $5650 USD.

I actually really like them both for different reasons, but I'm leaning towards the 62 due to the more classic look (hence why I'm here now), but just thought I'd get one last gut check on the price/year/mileage from you experienced folks. I'm hoping to negotiate the price down a bit more though, seems kind of high?

Anyway, excited to look around the forums and learn more! Cheers!

·
Registered
1,323 Posts
Pretty sure an 800 wouldn't frighten you off? Same weight (give or take) and size as the 62… Okay, a little more oomph but nothing unmanageable - just a thought to try and save you a stage of buying bikes. Enjoy whatever you end up with. 🙂

·
Registered
88 Posts
scrambler for sure over the husky.

sure it looks interesting and it would be dead light but I think the duc will be more of a long term ownership deal.

I think deano is right about the 800 (if you want to be able to do a little longer runs)

·
Registered
51 Posts