Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Imgur
Hi, I recently bought a new FT and have put about 2k miles on it as a daily commuter, and absolutely love it.

Now I’m about the least mechanically inclined person I know, but I’ve noticed oil spots forming under the bike when I park it at home. I don’t see the spots forming at work, I don’t know if it’s the surface not showing the spots or being in a garage/less outdoors resulting in less of a leak.

It seems to be running fine and no maintenance lights are coming on. Is this something I should take it into the dealer to look at, or is this expected for a new bike? Is there anywhere on the bike I should be checking out to see if there’s a problem?

Thanks for any help! Sorry if I’m not giving enough info, I’m fairly new to motorcycles.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Hi,

Have your dealer look at it ASAP, probably a very small issue (defective seal) but not to leave unattended, especially if it is spilling on higher parts of the engine (timing belts..) while driving at high speed, or if you notice oil spots under the bike: you don't want to drop it because of your front wheel unexpectedly losing adherence when parking on some surfaces (tiles) where a very small droplet of oil can become very dangerous ;-)

Valentin

·
Registered
978 Posts
Put a piece of cardboard under the bike when you park it at home and then if there are oil spots on it look directly above the spots before you move the bike to see where the oil is coming from.