Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this is going to sound really dumb but I’m not a mechanic, I am so impressed with people who know how stuff works.

New 2017 Scrambler Icon, 850 miles on it. I know there’s something about the clutch and about the shifter I don’t like.

Clutch - at first I thought it was too far away but really it’s that it doesn’t engage for the first 75% of the release. It makes my shifting really crappy until I’ve got some speed going and my hill starts are just plain dangerous because I’m rollimg back before the clutch engages. Even while releasing the rear brake which I do. I have a Suzuki SV650S with no such issues, and just sold a Kawasaki KLR 250 that I had no issues hill starting either. Is this normal for this bike? What have others experienced and/or adjusted?

Shifter - It’s clunky and seems to take too long. Like it’s a long motion to get it to shift, and it clunks when it does, especially lower gears. Twice now I haven’t quite shifted all the way and I get to 17 3/4 gear or something, I have to go back and down or up shift to go normal again. Does it have to do with sprocket size or anything? That’s kind of what I envision, a huge jump of the chain every time that is loud and laborious.

I like the bike but when the clutch and shifter aren’t working intuitively for me, it is not a smooth ride.

At first service they did add tension to the chain, they said it was loose, and that has made the throttle feel so much more responsive. Wish the shifting with clutch was more smooth. They didn’t note any problems with either, but part of that was maybe because I wasn’t able to communicate my issues in an understandable way.

Feel free to point me to relevant threads too, I just don’t know what keywords to use.

Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #2