Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My -19 Desert Sled just passed break in period and this winter it will get some upgrades, mainly exhaust and the MWR powerUp kit. So there is a couple of options for remapping the Scrambler engine:

Rexxer
PowerCommander
Tuneboy

I know I missed some :) So, as I understand it I could either buy a Rexxer and have them 'guess' the fuelling or go for the PowerCommander and do a proper map for my engine. Also the Tuneboy box gives me the possibility to remap properly ?

Seems that almost everyone uses the Rexxer mod and I assume that is is becuase it is cheaper than powercommander and a day in the dyno to remap ?

The professional Rexxer stuff seems really expensive so that is not an option.

·
Registered
108 Posts
I'm not an expert and if I guess the proper terminology I'll probably get it wrong but my understanding was that the Power Commander is kind of limited in what it can do (can't deactivate O2 sensors?). Also you need it attached the whole time.

The Rexxer uploads then disconnects, no reason why you'd need the professional tools. Either sending the ECU away or buying their User box are both options

·
Registered
771 Posts
There are places that will do a custom map using the Rexxer. The Rexxer kit is just a bit of hardware used to bypass Ducati's security lockdown on the ECU. If someone has the unit they can adjust the mappings as they please.

The cheap option most people have used (including myself) from Rexxer is buying a license and downloading a pre-configured map, created on a dyno using similar parts to I had installed.

There may well be a Rexxer map tuned specifically for use with the MWR powerup kit, which could be an easy option. Pretty much all exhausts for the Scrambler flow similarly enough that the standard maps work fine.
PowerCommander probably is the easiest option for a custom dyno tune if no one local has a Rexxer pro unit.

·
Registered