Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started riding about 10 years ago, started on a Ninja, then got an SV which I still have. Got the Scrambler last year after not riding for 5 years. Riding is not natural to me, and I feel stuck in a pattern of fear for faster (speed limit) curves, like 40mph-50mph. I do better on curves going right but really choke on left ones. I’m not sure if my fear is that I’m turning towards the lane of oncoming traffic, maybe.

I’ve done a few track days and I also try to ride a lot. Some days I feel like I’ve got it, but some I don’t, especially when I’m tired.

I have the book Twist of the Wrist, it’s been a while, I can read that again. Just hoping for some guidance on how to build some confidence. When learning, I dropped my bike a lot and i guess it’s messed with my head ever since.

Sorry for the very basic question. I just wish I could get past this hurdle. Thank you. If not appropriate I can delete.

(Me at a track day, clearly not leaning despite the perfect setup for it.)

9A22EADE-6BDF-4E7B-BE57-E9253A62DA2C.jpeg

·
Registered
192 Posts
I won't give a dissertation on riding skills or pretend that I'm a great rider but I have a lot of experience. I traded my scrambler and now have a Yamaha FJ 09 and the 2 bikes are both good handling bikes with mediocre suspension. I put K-Tech front and rear on my bike and it makes a world of difference. It allows the bike to work and handle the way you'd hope when it is stock. I find that I'm way more confident in how the bike will react and what to expect. It might not be that obvious but even braking is a lot more predictable. If you really like the bike then it's worth investing in suspension for the long haul. The only riding advice I will give is counter steer the hell out of it and when in doubt counter steer harder. Read as much as you can about ridng and practice what you read. Most of it is on the money.

·
Registered