Ducati Scrambler Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone.
I've been riding street bikes for about 20 years or so. I've ridden everything from a gs 400 cafe to SV 650/1000 and now finally an old XS750.
I've wanted a scrambler since 2015. So here's the question. I like the new night shift for everything but the spoked wheels. Should I go for the dark model and start modding or spend the extra bucks on the night shift? After changing the bars, mirrors, exhaust and likely the seat out on a dark model I'd probably end up spe doing more than the night shift. Plus then there's the 1100 sport....
Thoughts?

·
Registered
8 Posts
With similar dark paint schemes, I agree you could pretty much turn the Dark into a Nightshift if you wanted.
And it would be fun to make those mods. But for the sizeable $2,100 difference in MSRP, if it were my money, that would seem like quite a lot to spend on what are mainly cosmetic changes. (Of course bars, mirrors, and seat are not just cosmetic, but you can't evaluate the ergonomics of a bike until you've bought it and ridden it a while anyway...)
So that's my first of 2 cents (kind of an expensive plan).
My second thought concerns the wheels. It sounds like you're not too keen on the spoked wheels of the Nightshift. Perhaps someone with more specific knowledge of those wheels can chime in, but to me they don't look like the type that can run without tubes. That'd be a deal-breaker for me. I also have an R nineT, and was told by the dealer that the cast wheels were actually lighter than the spoked wheels available from the factory. If you were doing a lot of heavy duty, rough off-road riding you'd appreciate the additional "give" and durability of spoked wheels. But if you're not really doing such intense off-road riding, you might, like me, rather go for lightness and ease of maintenance.